Skip to content

How to Make Velveeta Cheese – a Knock-Off Recipe

January 20, 0020
baked-macaroni-velveeta-cheese

easy to make knock-off recipe for velveeta cheese

Why anyone would make this is beyond me – but I know there are many velveeta-loving people out there. Heck I would simply make an authentic cheese sauce (posted)…but for those who have picky kids and you wish to make this on your own ‘faux-valveeta’…

Hope this helps you…

And for those who like to make their own everything, then this recipe is for you!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 lb. grated Cheddar cheese, divided into 3 equal parts
  • 1 1/2 cups almost boiling water, divided into 3 equal parts
  • 1/2 cup plus 1 tbls. instant dry milk, divided into 3 equal parts
  • 1/2 envelope unflavored gelatin (1 1/2 tsp.), divided into 3 equal parts


Directions:

  1. Line a 8x4x2 loaf pan with plastic wrap
  2. Put 1/2 cup water, 3 tbls. milk, and 1/2 tsp. gelatin into blender
  3. Blend until gelatin has dissolved
  4. Add 1/2 lb. Cheddar cheese
  5. Blend until well, it’s blended
  6. Pour into loaf pan
  7. Repeat same procedure two more times
  8. Cover with plastic wrap and chill overnight before unmolding
  9. Makes 2 Lb.
Good luck and happy faux-velveeta making! I thank my friend for sharing this with me….
Chow Ciao for Now
~Chef Maven
One Comment leave one →
  1. February 19, 2012 2:55 pm

    LOL ‘Why?’ Is right. But, sometimes, I just get a real craving for cheese-y dip and CANNOT bring myself to buy all those preservatives!! So I, for one, Thank You.

Leave a comment