Skip to content

Roast Beef or Rib Eye Roast Beef Hash – Left Over Dinner Ideas

October 6, 2008

I had so much rib eye roast left over from the other week’s holiday dinner party, I immediately saved some of it and threw it into the freezer. Making new food dishes from leftovers are easy with using just a little creativity – your family will never know. And with a little preparing and thinking ahead, you can freeze this ahead of time and make it on another day.

Now making hash is not anything new to me, nor making hash out of other ingredients such as roast beef, rib eye roast or from ham. Nor is this idea of making hash out of something other than corned beef new.

In fact, my recipe comes from my ‘family bible’ which lovingly is really just our old cookbook with recipes that are over 60 years old, easily, if not older. Everyone in my family has a copy of this book, which of course is no longer in print, and no I will not share its title with you…sorry, but this chef maven has to keep some of her food secrets hushed.

I happen to have one copy of my mothers and another of my grandmothers, both copies of this cookbook has hand written notes, little additional copies of recipes torn from one magazine or newspaper adhered to the pages are added here and there, making each book special to me. My own copy has in fact my own little notes, such as when I halve the recipe or make 1.5 times the recipe and need to know the exact amount of ingredients. But let’s get back to the hash shall we?

Of course, I love it when it when hash is made from corned beef, don’t get me wrong. But has made with these other cooked meats is just as dandy – I assure you! And with the cost of food as of late, with no chance that they will lower in prices anytime soon, you bet your burned oven mitts I am using up foods in a variety of ways in order to save my family money whle still providing good healthy slow food meals.

So let me show you how to make hash with using left over roast beef, rib eye roast or even ham. This is not your mashed up hash people – which is one way I would never serve any hash quite frankly in my home. It’s sort of scary looking if you do make hash all mashed up – since to me it looks like baby food, and since we are not babies here – let me show you how adults eat and make REAL hash.

Ingredients:

  • 2-3 cups left over cooked roast beef/rib eye roast or ham – diced into 1-1/2″ cubes or larger sizes.
  • 2 or 3 cups boiled potatoes cut into same size as your cooked meat – we have used red potatoes normally – but any type of potato will do as long as they have been boiled or at the very least par-boiled for 10 minutes. Leaving the skin on is optional.
  • 1 large onion – finely chopped
  • 2 garlic cloves minced
  • 5 tablespoons ketchup
  • 1 small can of evaporated milk – or 1/2 cup rich milk or cream
  • 1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • ***Equipment needed
  • Glass pie pan or shallow oven-proof pan, large bowl, slow oven on 300 degrees, one lazy afternoon.

Directions:

  1. Grease pie pan or shallow baking dish with butter, including up the sides.
  2. In large bowl, add all ingredients and gently stir till combined. You do not wish to mush up the potatoes.
  3. Place wet mixture into greased shallow roasting pan or the glass pie dish and place onto middle rack in the slow oven.
  4. Stir mixture every 30 or so minutes – gently since as the potatoes cook more, they can become very tender.
  5. At last 20 minutes of cooking, you may wish to push up the heat to 375 – to make your hash extra crispy.
  6. Serve with a large salad for dinner – or throw on eggs on top and bake for 10 minutes in oven for a great looking brunch dish!
  7. Voila – real and awesome corned beef hash!

The total cooking time should be about 2 to 3 hours at 300 degrees. I like to up the heat for the last 20 minutes, to 375 to make it extra crispy. But the slow long cooking time really allows for the moisture to evaporate leaving just the wonderful seasonings, crispy parts that thrill your taste buds.

I find that when I make ham hash or roast beef hash, the amazing taste is so close to that of corned beef hash, it always astonishes me. Go figure….have fun with this one!

Sorry I don’t know where this photo came from, but I found it too funny not to share.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 6, 2008 7:31 pm

    OMG that picture is priceless.

Leave a Reply

