Skip to content

October 11th is National Sausage Pizza Day

October 10, 2008

I am still waiting for my local pizzerias to get the hint, the other month when I walked in to grab a slice for lunch, I let them know it was national cheese pizza day. They were in total disbelief, why hadn’t anyone told them this before? First of all, they were shocked that there was even a special day for ‘them’ and two, were even more surprised that this happens every year on the same day. Wow guys, don’t leave your day jobs.

So, October 11th is no different. The only specials on pizza I see come from Pizza Joints I don’t necessarily call ‘real’ pizza such as Dominos – now don’t get your panties up in a bunch. I actually like Domino’s Pizza and I can even call myself a New Yorker.

In fact I was letting my guy know last night that I was in the mood to make pizza and this is without learning that this day is national sausage pizza day. What a coincidence, or is it fate? In a previous post, I shared my own recipe for a white pizza with fennel and goat cheese. I may end up doing that with making the dough myself and adding sausages to it as a topping.

A word to the wise, should you wish to do the same, I would highly suggest you cook the sausage in a skillet almost completely before placing it onto your pizzas for toppings. Personally I would slice the sausages thinly, then brown them up, then place them onto the pizza. No one needs uncooked meat toppings on their pizzas. I might also add steamed brocolli which I then ladened with garlic and a little of olive oil. Should be good!

So from me, Chef Maven to you, my faithful hungry Reader, have a great sausage pizza day this October 11th.

Other interesting tidbits and this day in history:

Feast of St. Gummarus, patron of cowherds. (sorry, I didn’t find much info. about this particular saint.)

1844 Henry John Heinz was born. Founder of the H.J. Heinz company and creator of its slogan ’57 varieties.’

1887 The first accurate adding machine patented by Don Eugene Felt. (The Comptometer).

1911 Nathaniel Wyeth was born. Nathaniel Wyeth, American chemist and inventor, received patent for PET (polyethylene terephthalate) beverage bottles. This was the first safe plastic strong enough to hold carbonated beverages.

(Extra facts courtesy of foodreference.com)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 10, 2008 6:05 pm

    Now I want to order one….and the pick is just delicious looking.

  2. September 29, 2009 6:19 pm

    Hi Chef Maven,
    Thanks for the info on National Sausage Pizza Day. I’m going to be celebrating National Pizza Month on my blog in October. I sure am glad to learn National Cheese Pizza Day has a “partner.”

    P.S. I’m delighted to have found your blog. I need to go explore. I’m trying to follow you on Twitter but there is an error message saying Twitter did not respond. I’ll try again later.

Leave a Reply

