Skip to content

Brunch – Still the Easiest on the Budget Way to Entertain with an Oven Baked Omelet and Blueberry Coffeecake Recipes

February 22, 2011

Oven Baked Omelet Easy Dish to Make at Anytime

This past weekend I hosted a lovely Brunch at my new home.
A fire crackled in the fireplace as each one of us took turns being the ‘girl scout’ while I did my best to step back and not be a control-freak when it came to the fire (I’m a safety girl a la Julia in Pretty Woman). As quaint as this little home of mine is, I was easily able to have five people over enjoying delicious foods.

Starting off the Brunch were ripe brie with fine crackers and red pepper jelly that offered a little sweet and hot spice to get their palettes wagging their wanting tongues. As they entered my home, the air wafted of the “still in the oven and about to be taken out crispy yet tender baked ham“.

Mimosas with just made fresh squeezed orange juice were being handled over to guests, while other provided choices included fresh coffee lattes and fresh spiced hot cider. The home-baked blueberry coffeecake; fresh mescalin salad with craisins, pan roasted spiced walnuts & almonds served with a locally make asian salad dressing called ‘Krazy for Kuzu’; and an oven baked omelet with three cheeses, herbes de provence and fresh chopped scallions – were simply delicious and easy to prepare and make while the guests got settled into their seats…

This particular meal basically bakes and cooks itself so you have time to sit back and enjoy your friends as much as they will be enjoying your company and home. In fact when I put the ham into the oven it was only then that I started to straighten up my home a bit before their arrival.

A Note to the Wise When Planning Any Sort of Soiree:
One of the very first things I do when I host a gathering of sorts is to make a menu. I grab my faithful notebook and write down what I may like to serve up. This way I can see what will take time to prepare or note how long it will take in the oven for example. I will even note on the menu list of what time during the actual day of the party when certain things need to go into the oven (think the baked ham) or which items need to be taken out of the fridge to ripen (think brie cheese). Including noting what I might need to purchase or prepare so that on the day of my party I hopefully will have very little to do. And lastly, relax as people arrive, lite the candles and be yourself.

And just because you have set out a time line, does not mean you have to completely be glued to it – by all means allow for some flexibility. Allow guests to help you and don’t be afraid to ask for assistance. Most parties will go better if you allow the guests to be involved – I have said time this and time again.

I was told long ago one trick it to have at least something to nibble on when people arrive. Decide in advance where their coats are to be placed if your front closet is jammed pack for instance – the bedroom bed can always work. And for me, I prefer for no one to wear their shoes inside my home, so I have comfy and clean slippers at the ready. Let me tell you, when people are in their slippers – they too become comfy, and relax to enjoy themselves at your party.

So today’s Recipes I will share are the blueberry coffeecake and the oven baked omelet.

Let me preface that when I grew up, and I have mentioned this fact before – but there really was only one item my grandmother and mother would stock in their cupboards which was pre-made and use on occasion to hasten their baked goods like biscuits, oven baked fried chicken and of course coffeecake…. can you guess? Yes, Bisquick. Good old fashioned Bisquick. Yes, it’s an almost processed food – but since it is used only on occasion in my home, this slow food foodie still keeps a box of it at the ready for those few times a year when I wish to make things just a little easier on myself.

A few years ago I had wished to make the coffeecake that I recalled as a kid my mother making and since times have changed, Bisquick no longer kept this particular recipe on their box – don’t know why – but after a good google search, voila, the recipe I remember… this recipe below has been adapted with additional ingredients from the original you may find via an Internet search. Shall we get started?

Blueberry Coffeecake Recipe

You will be mixing the dough, then placing it into your lightly greased baking dish – either an 8×8 square pan or a pie dish. Preheat your oven for 375 degrees.

Blueberry Coffee Cake - Photo courtesy of katskitchentalk.blogspot.com

Once you have placed your mixed batter into the baking pan of your choice, you may use the same mixing bowl to make the topping, and simply pour it over the top and place the coffeecake into the oven and let bake for 30 minutes. Cake is done when a knife comes out clean. Let cool slightly before slicing up and serving. And for Pete’s sake, this is an easy to make coffeecake – no need to bring out that fancy mix master! Use a wooden spoon and a bowl to mix up the dough which will be slightly stiff.

Equipment:

  • Mixing bowl
  • wooden spoon & fork or pastry fork (for making topping)
  • 8×8 square metal or glass pan or 8 or 9 inch pie pan (again either glass or metal)
  • Preheat Oven 375 degrees

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups Bisquick Mix
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 2/3 cups milk (whole preferred) but skim and 1 percent does fine too)
  • 2 extra large/jumbo eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground clove
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup frozen blueberries – the kind with no sugar added

Instructions: Place all dry ingredients into bowl first, then everything else but the blueberries. Mix till dough comes together – 50 stirs at most, then add blueberries, stir just a few times more, then pour batter into greased baking dish.

For Topping:

  • 1/3 cup Bisquick
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar (light or dark)
  • 2 tablespoons butter

Instructions: Simply add dry ingredients in first, then butter. Using a fork, a pastry cutter or simply your hands as I did this past Sunday – crumbled ingredients together, it should not be a fine mixture – but clumbs of goodness…simply pour and spread over coffeecake, then place into oven on the middle rack and let bake for 30 minutes. That’s it!

Oven Baked Omelet

Suggestions – I used goat cheeses, which made for a wonderfully slightly tangy omelet. Using three different types of cheeses as one would do in a quiche really brings out a depth of flavor which will make people come back for more! I’m just saying…

While I was so busy entertaining I ended up not taking any photos – I will soon update the photos in this post when I make this omelet again, since It really does puff up about 4 inches – and since there is no stirring, the omelet is super fluffy and light.

Equipment:

  • A skillet that can go from stove top to oven, safely. (I use an Iron Clad I purchased for $10! from one of those large outlet kitchen stores)
  • Clean large mixing bowl
  • Whisk
  • Cheese Grater
  • Oven Preheated at 375 degrees (How conveeeenient – your oven is already set for that! a la The Church Lady by Dana Carvey from those good ‘ol SLN days)

Ingredients:

  • While the coffeecake is baking, and you still have those eggs out, you are going to use two eggs per person. I used ten eggs for my recipe.
  • 1 tablespoon of herbs de provence ( – click on link to find out more from wikipedia.com – but it’s a spice mixture that comprises of various herbs that wonderfully go with eggs)
  • kosher salt & fresh cracked black pepper – depending upon number of eggs – Use more pepper than you would normally.
  • 1-2 scallions, freshly chopped
  • I used about 1 and a 1/3 cup three (3) types of cheeses (use 3 of your choice since any less won’t bring out a depth of flavor that you are really looking forward to in creating a sumptuous omelet that can stand up to the other dishes). I used 1/2 cup of a Goat Gouda, 1/2 cup of a pepper jack and 1/3 cup of the crumbled goat cheese.
  • 3/4 cups of light cream (preferred) or use half-n-half or milk. Less liquid for less eggs. (or two tablespoons per two eggs if this makes it easier adjusting this recipe for your specific needs)
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • Oh – and umm, I didn’t mention that this was not a dietetic recipe did I?

Instructions:

  • In large mixing bowl, crack your eggs, and Let them come to room temperature.
  • Shred your cheeses…or have someone else in your party do this – as I did…your guests always want to help, it gives those who are nervous something to do with their hands.
  • Whisk eggs till eggs are completely mixed (no white parts hanging out by themselves per se)
  • Put skillet on stove on medium heat, add 1 tablespoon butter. Let butter melt while pan gets hot. Tilt skillet now and then so butter coats the bottom of the skillet – and return to your bowl of eggs.
  • Add Half n half, milk or light cream as I did, and whisk once again. Add salt and pepper – use more pepper than you think you might normally use. Then add the herbs de provence. Mix all together.
  • Pour egg mixture into your skillet and let sit – yes, simply let sit. You did remember to put the heat on medium yes? Good! You want the egg on the bottom of the skillet to set a bit. There’s no stirring what so ever at this point as you are not making scrambled eggs.
  • Once set – say about 3 to 4 minutes, then add cheeses. I added my crumbled goat cheese last. With a fork or spoon, gently push cheeses down so that fresh runny liquid-y egg cover the cheese. Next add your fresh scallions on top, and do the same – pat scallions down into egg mixture.
  • Take out your coffeecake and place on a trivet while carefully putting your skillet into the oven.
  • Let bake for about 10 minutes, checking in on it after the ten minutes. Jiggle the skillet by the handle using an oven mitt – if you see much jiggling in the middle, it’s not done yet.
  • I also after the ten minutes turn on my broiler and let the omelet continue to rise under a low-flamed broiler.  My broiler in on the top ‘ceiling’ of my stove making this part of the omelet baking process super easy. The omelet comes out fluffy like a souffle.
  • Bring to the table using an oven mitt – make sure you have a trivet already on the serving table.
  • Get ready for the oohs and ahhs… that will surely be said.
  • Slice into ‘pie’ shapes and with a metal or heat safe spatula, remove slices and serve up to your guests.
  • Enjoy! Plus – any leftovers are amazingly delicious served up cold – as we went for seconds a few hours later while another one of us took turns being the girl scout poking the fire and putting another log on.

Chow Ciao for Now,

Chef Maven

the fire is roaring....

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

